Project #3: Security and Encryption

I think that encryption is not something that we should take for granted and is a fundamental right. I know that privacy is a major concern, but I believe that if the data is used properly and there area set of checks and balances to protect the people from abuse I don’t think that encryption needs to be needed at all.

Mostly my stances stems from the feeling that I have nothing to hide. If the government were to release my internet search history and everything I have done on the internet I wouldn’t be happy, but I really wouldn’t get in too much trouble, besides for maybe my parents getting mad at how many movies and TV shows I watch. I am no saint by any means, but I am not too worried about encryption and privacy. I can see how the lack of encryption is seen as a governmental invasion of our privacy, but as the world becomes more and more digital, operating in that world is a choice that you make.

Since I have nothing to hide, encryption is not a big deal to me. It does not affect how I view candidates and has no affect on how I vote. I know this is different then a lot of my peers, but it is just how I am.

I think in the end national security will win out over privacy. Already my generation is more and more comfortable sharing more and more information on the internet. I think this will continue to be true and eventually personal privacy will be a thing of the past. In some ways this extreme is kind of scary, but in others, I think it will help to make us safer. In an age of global terrorism, I think that national security will be picked over privacy, and as long as I am kept safe, I am pretty happy with that.

Project #3: Security and Encryption

Leave a comment